THE MILLION UNDERSCORES is an experimental theater company based in Brooklyn under the artistic direction of Nicolas Noreña. Founded in Summer 2013  the company has developed alongside a qualitative study of numbers, and experiments in aesthetic drive, abstract composition, and collaborative writing.

We make highly visual and physical eccentric theater works that interrogate the action and the form of theater.

We value every element of performance as an independent voice. Through density, multi-directionality and juxstaposition we generate fields for the audience to notice, think and reify modes of perception, organization and understanding.















NICOLAS NOREÑA (Artistic Director) is a Colombian theater maker and performer based in Brooklyn. He has worked with Richard Foreman, Mary Overlie, The Talking Band, Jess Barbagallo, and Object Collection among others. He is the founding member of, and is the artistic director of THE MILLION UNDERSCORES. Through this company he has developed, produced, directed and designed over ten original productions that have been presented in spaces such as The Museum of Modern Art, FringeNYC, The Exponential Festival, The Brick Theater and Target Margin Theater among others. 

He was a LEIMAY fellow 2015-2020,  LAB  artist with Target Margin Theater in 2019 and was a resident artist with MABOU MINES 2015-2016. 

Nicolas currently teaches at the Experimental Theater Wing in New York University, and is the archive director of the Mary Overlie Legacy Project. 

TIMOTHY SCOTT (Associate Artistic Director)  is a Brooklyn based performer and a founding member of THE MILLION UNDERSCORES. He has worked with Richard Foreman, Mary Overlie, Ernesto Pujol and Jess Barbagallo. In the past years he has been traveling and assistant teaching Six Viewpoints and Floor Barre with Mary Overlie. He currently holds a residency at LEIMAY.  Timothy is a graduate from NYU-Tisch having studied at the Experimental Theater Wing and Stella Adler studio for Acting  



Tanya Marquardt

Allesandro Magania

Paul Langland

Sophia Treanor

Ryan Williams Downey

Yuki Kawahisa

Alenka Kraigher 

Madeline Barr

Marija Kovacevic 

Johana Stone

Daniel Allen Nelson

Runn Shayo

Caitlin Hargraves

Jade Fusco 

Lizzy Denning 

Jon Fusco 

Heather Thiry

Aryan Rad

Kelsey Larsen

Lizzie Kehoe

Kiley Olsen

Gili Nir

Thomas Skea

Michelle Uranowitz

Russell Peck

David Bernstein 

Austin Thompson 

Annick Marie Dall 

Maggie Mcdowell

Marija Kovacevic 

Cecilia Leal 

Rebecca Kushner

Alex Franz Zehetbauer 

Sam Lassiter

Hudson Rhotenberry

Sophie Bossart 

Derya Celikkol 

Zachary Luke

Isabella Uzcategui- Matos